

Press Release

Paris, April, 22nd 2017

SERIES MANIA FESTIVAL (Season 8) from April 13 – 23, 2017

The Winners

This evening, **Series Mania** announces the winners of the festival's eighth edition, during the closing ceremony. The festival is the creation of the Forum des images, and is dedicated to new French and international TV series.

Eleven winners were selected from around 60 series in competition.

<u>International competition</u>

The jury for the eighth edition, presided over by **Damon Lindelof** and comprising **Aure Atika**, **Agnieszka Holland**, **Eytan Fox** and **Clément Manuel**, attributed four prizes among **10 international series** in competition.

According to Damon Lindelof Series Mania is the most professionally produced and remarkable festivals I have ever attended. [...].Every television series I viewed was extraordinary... the most challenging aspect of the competition was narrowing down an excellent field to just a few awards. Not only was the scope of the shows diverse internationally, but diverse ideologically. From comedies to drama, it was simply astonishing how unique each series was. This is truly a new golden age of television and it was one of the highlights of my life to celebrate it by being on the jury for Series Mania.

• **Jury Grand Prix:** *Your Honor*, Israeli series created by Shlomo Mashiach and Ron Ninio. Directed by Ron Ninio. Produced by Koda Communication, yes-DBS. Broadcast in Israël by yes.

For its surprising and provocative examination of judgment in modern-day Israel and anchored by riveting performances, Your Honor dives deep into the human soul and doesn't flinch at what it finds there stated **the Jury**.

- Special Jury Prize: I Love Dick, US series created by Jill Soloway and Sarah Gubbins. Codirected by Jill Soloway, Andrea Arnold, Kimberly Peirce and Jim Frohna. Produced by Amazon Studios. Broadcast in the US and in France by Amazon Prime Video.
- [...] For its fresh, original and exhilarating presentation of passion lost and found again, I Love Dick is as intellectual as it is sexy, not to mention incredibly funny It makes us laugh and makes us think declared with great enthusiasm **The Jury**.
 - **Best Actress**: **Anna Friel**, for her role in the British series Broken, created by Jimmy McGovern, Shaun Duggan, Colette Kane and Nick Laether. Codirected by Ashley Pearce and Noreen Kershaw. Produced by Jimmy McGovern, Donna Molloy, Colin McKeown and Sean Bean. Broadcast in the UK by BBC One.

The jury said that Anna Friel breathes life into her character with stunning honesty [...]. She is heartbreaking and stunning performance leaves no question as to why this show is called "BROKEN."

• Best Actor: Kida Khodr Ramadan, for his role in the German series 4 Blocks created by Marvin Kren, Hanno Hackfort, Bob Konrad, Richard Kropf. Directed by Marvin Kren. Produced by Wiedmann & Berg Television. Broadcast in Germany by TNT Serie.

Ramadan's nuanced performance moves between brutality and empathy in the blink of his wounded eyes. Mr. Ramadan crackles with raw power and emotion as he takes a role we've seen before and turns it upside-down, creating a character that is unpredictable, yet undeniably human recognized the Jury.

<u>Audience Award</u> selected from all series presented at the festival, and voted by audiences after each screening.

Best Series:

The Good Fight, US series executive produced by Robert and Michelle King, Phil Alden Robinson, Ridley Scott, David Zucker, Liz Glotzer, Brooke Kennedy and Alison Cross. Produced by CBS Television Studios in association with Scott Free Productions and King Size Productions. Broadcast in the US by CBS All Access.

International press jury

Six French-language series were in competition, judged by the following media: *Variety* (US), *Huffington Post Québec* (Canada), *Rossiyskaya Gazeta* (Russia), *La Libre Belgique* (Belgium), and *Aftenposten* (Norway).

- **Best French-Language Series**: *Transferts*, French series created by Claude Scasso and Patrick Benedek. Directed by Olivier Guignard and Antoine Charreyron. Produced by Panama Productions, Filmagine, Be Films and ARTE. Broadcast in France and Germany by ARTE.
- Best Actress in a French-Language Series: Ophélia Kolb, actress in the series
 On va s'aimer, un peu... beaucoup. Created by Emmanuelle Rey-Magnan and
 Pascal Fontanille. Produced by Merlin Productions, Fontaram Productions and France
 Télévisions. Broadcast in France by France 2.
- Best Actor in a French-Language Series: Arieh Worthalter, actor in the series
 Transferts French series created by Claude Scasso and Patrick Benedek.
 Directed by Olivier Guignard and Antoine Charreyron. Produced by Panama Productions,
 Filmagine, Be Films and ARTE. Broadcast in France and Germany by ARTE.

French TV Critics Association Prize

• **Discovering Series:** *Missions*, French series created by Julien Lacombe, Henri Debeurme and Ami Cohen. Directed by Julien Lacombe. Produced by Empreinte Digitale. Broadcast in France by OCS.

Bloggers' Prize

• **Best Series:** *Juda*, Israeli series created by Zion Baruch. Directed by Meni Yaesh. Produced by Universal Studios of Israel. Broadcast in Israel by HOT and in France by SFR Play.

<u>Web and Digital Series prizes</u> were selected from seven web and digital series that premiered online on the series-mania.fr website.

 Best Web and Digital Series: Loulou, a French series created by Alice Vial, Louise Massin, and Marie Lelong. Directed by Fanny Sidney. Produced by La Onda Productions (Thibaud Ader). Broadcast in France and Germany by ARTE Creative.

series-mania.fr/en/